One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish

September 23, 2008

Who knew Monday could be such a good day?

Well, half of my day was said in the post below this one. So this one will recount the facts since 1:30 this afternoon. Had the 2pm 2D class. Today was a critique day since we just finished up a major project. Critique days mean we sit around for 3 hours talking about everyone’s work and what we like/don’t like about it. Sounds easy but it gets quite long and boring after a while. I’ve been working on this project for about 3 weeks now– I think. I honestly cannot remember if I have mentioned anything about what this project was before, so I’ll recap. We had to bend wire, photograph it, cut it up, piece it together and come up with something that uses line, repetition, movement, etc. I had one idea going for 3 weeks, it was pretty decent, however, there was something about it that just didn’t seem to work. To get around this I went home and tore it apart. Sounds violent but you never know what else you can do until you try and I have a serious problem getting around my first idea so it’s best to just destroy it all together. I’m SO glad I did because I’m pretty happy with my final piece– and it even got an A! No small feat at this school… so it feels pretty good every once in a while.

I took a picture today of my 3d project too, but the picture came out so horribly because of the odd lighting in the room so I’m embarrassed even to post it up here. I’ll see if I can get a better one tomorrow if it’s not ripped apart by then.
I’ve been working on yet another tinfoil drawing tonight–due tomorrow. Went and played volleyball with some guys over at the SLC for a break from homework. Ended up playing doubles because there were only 3 other guys on the court, oh well, not bad for a Monday night. It was pretty nice because two of the guys have played before so there was always someone to set plus I got to pass a lot since the guy on the other side is a huge hitter. I think i’m going to play volleyball tomorrow night after class with Andrew’s (Ashley’s boyfriend) intramural team. We’ll see. My class ends at 8:50 and the game starts at 9.
Anyway, I’m off to watch another episode of the OC with Ashley before bedtime!
Leave a Reply

