Week Eight

February 5, 2009

(as posted on RIT blog…)

Week eight is stressful no matter which way you look at it. Projects are due, there are tons of events on campus, new projects are assigned, class registration takes place… and the list goes on. I’ve been trying to avoid spending anytime relaxing (not that I have that kind of time) just because I didn’t want to realize how much I was actually packing into a day. I was just sitting at dinner with my roommate and we were talking about things that had happened this morning except I somehow thought it had been last week. Who knew 24 hours could feel so long.

Just to give you a feel for what all is going on, we’ll start with last weekend.. After work on Friday I began the weekend with a trip to downtown Rochester to see the RIT Tigers take on the National U18 Hockey team. After the game my roommate and I came back and went over to a friend’s dorm for movie night! — The pick of the night was Austin Powers. When I told them I had never seen it before they immediately jumped up, put the movie on and said “WATCH NOW”. Apparently it was ridiculously shocking that I had never watched this before. I guess there are also fair amount of movies that I’ve missed out on because they promised a weekly movie night so I should be caught up by the end of my 4 years here. Saturday I woke up at noon — did I mention that I love weekends? Went to breakfast at Gracie’s and worked on some homework. One of my friends who plays on the club hockey team mentioned that they were having an orange and white game on Saturday afternoon so I went to check that out because I just can’t pass up hockey. An orange and white game basically just means it’s practice but they split the team up so they can play a full game, if that makes any sense? After that a few of the ambassadors got together for movie night! We watched Burn After Reading which was actually a really good movie, I think my favorite part about it was that it takes place in DC which is really close to where I live! Sunday a group of us went out to brunch and then went to see Little Shop of Horrors! The cast did a really great job and the songs have been stuck in my head ever since! Sunday night was also the Super Bowl Party and the Student Government organized a party in Clark Gym which was super nice because we got free pizza and got to watch the game on a massive screen.

Which brings us to this week. Monday and Tuesday passed with a blur. Went to classes, turned in projects, had critiques, got new projects assigned. Last night my roommate and I went to the gym for an hour and then played volleyball just because we needed a break from homework (and felt like exercising šŸ™‚

This morning I set my alarm for 5:45 am for class registration! During week 8 of every quarter all students go through this process. It’s all scheduled by your year (senior, junior, sophomore, freshman, etc.) from highest to lowest. You wake up on your assigned day at 6:00 in the morning and pray to the gods of the SIS registration system to let you in. Just kidding, it wasn’t that bad this time around. Signing up for winter quarter was quite a bit more difficult, I probably sat there for a good hour and a half clicking and just hoping that the server would become unbusy so I could register for the classes that I needed. This morning, I had luck on my side and I was some how able to get in a full minute and a half before 6:00 am which meant that I was fully registered by 6:04! I climbed back in bed and slept some more until my 9 am class– I think this whole sleeping, waking up, sleeping and waking up again was what made today feel so long. Either that or I had two 3 hour studio classes. There is something kind of fun about waking up so darn early when you know how many other people are in the same boat as you. It’s really funny watching people’s facebook status’s change as they get in or are booted out of the system.

Anyway, I’m currently sitting in the library getting ready to do some hardcore homeworking! I figured that it would be a good idea to separate myself from the dorms so I could get some work done but then I ended up blogging instead šŸ™‚ After working for a few hours, I’m going downstairs to Java Wally’s for Acoustic Night! It’s something they put on every once in a while on Wednesday nights (twice a quarter, I think?) and it’s basically just a coffeehouse for RIT students. Pretty neat!

Leave a Reply

